Aside

Working, learning and settling in

With a month finally under my belt,  it’s safe to say I am settled in.

Being an intern has kept me busy. Working at USA TOAY has given me an entirely different perspective on journalism and the industry. I am learning what it takes to be a national newspaper while getting the chance to see USA TODAY evolve into the digital world.

People often question my choice of journalism.

Those not in the industry wonder why I’m entering a career that won’t be around much longer. (Explaining journalism will always be around, just not in its current form, can be exhausting.)

Some veteran journalists jokingly comment I should get out while I can, while secretly they are dead serious.

Then I run into those journalists who have helped evolve the industry. They are the ones who are willing to change, learn and rethink how journalism is done. Those are the people who motivate me to keep pursing it.

While I edit columns, create videos and manage social media at USA TODAY,  I have had time to observe the newsroom and the way things work. I’m looking forward to seeing where this takes me and what I learn.

kennedycenter

View from the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.

It has been a chilly month. It’s dark way before I leave from work and still too cold to casually walk the National Mall. But I hear it’s worth the wait for the blooming cherry blossoms in the spring.

Twice a week, I make my way to the infamous Watergate Complex where I attend a seminar, as apart of the Washington Center for Politics and Journalism. There are six other interns who are in the program from different parts of the country and interning at different bureaus.

Each seminar has a different topic, varying from campaign finance to immigration reform. With the different speakers, I’ve met people involved in D.C. politics, from former national committee directors to journalists.

It’s exciting to be in the nation’s capital. I’ve been exploring the D.C. landmarks on the weekends. My favorites have been the National Museum of the American Indian and the National Archives. A few of us went to the Nordic fair at the Kennedy Center, which, has awesome views. Revisiting the Newseum is next on my list, and I can’t wait for the weather to get warmer so I can walk down the mall without feeling numb.

One thought on “Working, learning and settling in

Leave a Reply

